Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19) information and advice

Town and parish councils

There are 78 parishes in the Somerset West and Taunton district. Parish and town councils raise their money by adding an extra cost known as a "precept" to council tax bills in each parish. Your parish share will be clearly shown on your council tax bill.

Parish councillors are elected every four years. Results are available for the elections held on 2 May 2019.

Vacancies on parish and town councils can happen at any time, for example because a councillor has resigned or has died. If an election is not requested then the remaining councillors can fill the vacancy through co-option. This means the parish or town council can choose someone to fill the vacancy.