Skip to main content

Types of elections

We organise and manage all the elections for Somerset West and Taunton Council.

We also run other elections within the district on behalf of the South West Region European Parliamentary Constituency and referendums when called by Parliament.

Somerset County Council and your local parish council also employ us to run elections on their behalf.

Here are details of the types of elections that occur.

Type of election Representative capacity Frequency of elections
Parliamentary 2 constituencies: Bridgwater and West Somerset and Taunton Deane Every 5 years (maximum)
Somerset County Council 15 divisions Every 4 years
Somerset West and Taunton Council 35 wards Every 4 years
Parish 78 parishes Every 4 years