Skip to main content

Nominations for election published 

06 April 2022 : Council news, Elections and voting

The list of people nominated for election for the 15 County Council seats in the Somerset West and Taunton Council district has been published.

The statement of persons nominated for the elections on 5 May is available to view on our website.

The list of those nominated for town and parish councils will be available on the same link.

The full list of nominations for the 110 County Council seats - two in each of the 55 divisions - can be found on the County Council website Elections (

 For their first year, the elected councillors will take responsibility for all current County Council services and oversee the local government reorganisation to establish a single unitary council on 1 April 2023. 

From 1 April 2023, the 110 councillors of the unitary council will be responsible for services that are currently delivered by the county and four district councils, ranging from adults and children’s social care to highways and housing, and from libraries to planning and licensing. 

 District councils will remain until 31 March 2023 and the councillors serving on them will continue in their roles until that date.

People elected to represent their community at the town and parish council elections also taking place on 5 May, will also serve a five-year term. 

 Anyone eligible to vote but not already on the electoral register has one week left to ensure they are able to vote in the elections. Applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by Thursday, 14 April, and can be made online:

Voters have three options for casting their ballot – in person at the polling station, by post or by proxy - appointing someone you trust to vote on your behalf.

The last day to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Tuesday 19 April 2022.

The last day to apply for a proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday 26 April 2022.

If you have any queries regarding your right to vote, please contact a member of the Elections Team at or contact Electoral Services on 01823 358692.