Skip to main content

Town and Parish Council election results 

09 May 2022 : Council news, Elections and voting

Results for contested town and parish councils in the Somerset West and Taunton area have been published.

Electors were able to vote for candidates in 12 towns and parishes across the district at the elections on 5 May: -

  • Brompton Regis
  • Cheddon Fitzpaine (Maidenbrook Ward)
  • Cutcombe
  • Old Cleeve (Old Cleeve Ward)
  • Porlock
  • Stogursey
  • Watchet
  • Wellington (East Ward)
  • Wellington (Rockwell Green Ward)
  • Wellington (South East Ward)
  • Wellington (South Ward)
  • Winsford

The results are available to view on our elections page together with the statements of persons nominated for election at uncontested towns and parishes.

Councillors representing their communities on town and parish councils will serve a five-year term, bringing these elections into line with county elections going forward.

The full list of people elected for the 110 County Council seats - two in each of the 55 divisions - can be found on the Somerset County Council  Elections page.

For their first year, the elected councillors will take responsibility for all current County Council services and oversee the local government reorganisation to establish a single unitary council on 1 April 2023. 

From 1 April 2023, the 110 councillors of the unitary council will be responsible for services that are currently delivered by the county and four district councils, ranging from adults and children’s social care to highways and housing, and from libraries to planning and licensing. 

District councils will remain until 31 March 2023 and the councillors serving on them will continue in their roles until that date.