Local Plan Issues and Options consultation now live! Open from 13 January to 16 March. Have your say!

Charter Trustees

Charter Trustees are the 16 Somerset West and Taunton councillors elected to represent wards in the unparished area of Taunton. This is the central area that has no town or parish council of its own.

The Trustees elect a Mayor and Deputy Mayor for Taunton from their number. The Mayor and Deputy maintain the traditional role previously carried out by the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Taunton Deane within the boundary of the unparished area.

The Charter Trustees and the mayoralty are funded through a local tax, or precept, levied on householders in the unparished areas through the Council Tax system. The precept is not a new tax. It continues the system that existed under the former Taunton Deane Borough Council.

The creation of Charter Trustees in Taunton will not affect Mayors for other towns in Somerset West and Taunton which to date are found in Dulverton, Minehead, Watchet and Wellington.